pakistani website
Information and facts About Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly Peshawar
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
Chief Minister

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Provincial Assembly is the elected assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province ( NWFP ). The Assembly was established under Article 106 of the Constitution of Pakistan. It is located in Peshawar
There are three main functions performed by the Assembly viz a viz, legislation, management of public money and policy making.
After the first meeting of the Assembly, the members take an oath. The Assembly elects, from amongst its members, a Speaker and a Deputy Speaker.
After the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker, the Assembly cannot transact any other business unless it elects the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is elected in a special session, summoned by the Governor on a day specified by the President. The Chief Minister obtains vote of confidence from the Assembly within 60 days of assuming office.

There are a total of 371 seats in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa ( Frontier ) Assembly. Of these, 297 are filled by direct elections. In addition, the reserves 8 seats for religious minorities and 66 seats for women,

 General  Woman Minority Total
99 22 03 124


Speaker Mushtaq Ahmed Ghani
Deputy Speaker Mehmood Jan


Leader of Opposition

Akram Khan Durrani